Geography – India

Delhi Law Academy



India is the seventh largest country in the world in terms of area—accounting for about 2.4% of total world area and also ranks second in terms of population. It lies in the northern hemisphere between 8°4′ N and 37°6′ N parallels of latitude and between 68°7′ E and 97°25′ E meridians of longitude and is part of the Asian continent. The

country can be divided into 6 zones—north, south, east, west, central and north-east zone. It has 28 states and 7 union territories.

India stands apart from the rest of Asia, marked off by mountains and the sea which give her distinct geographical entity. Bounded by the great Himalayas in the north, it stretches southwards and at the Tropic of Cancer (23° 30′ N) tapers off into the Indian Ocean between Bay of Bengal on the east and the Arabian Sea on the west. It is a country in South Asia that lies entirely on the Indian Plate in the northern portion of the Indo-Australian Plate.

Important Facts:

Distance from north to south 3214 km
Distance from east to west 2933 km
Length of coastline 7516.6 km
Length of land frontier 15,200 km
Total geographic land area 32,87,263 km2
Percentage of earth’s surface covered by India 2.40%
Percentage of world’s population living in India 17.50%
Territorial Sea 12 nm (nautical miles)
Contiguous Zone 24 nm (nautical miles)
Exclusive Economic Zone 200 nm (nautical miles)
Longest River Ganga
Largest Lake Lake Chilka
Highest Point Mt. K2 (8611 m)
Highest Point of Himalayas Kanchan Junga (8598 m)
Lowest Point Kuttanad (-2 .2 m)
Northernmost Point Siachin Glacier near Karakoram
Southernmost Point Indira Point, Great Nicobar Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Westernmost Point West of Ghur Mota, Gujarat
Easternmost Point Kibithu, Arunachal Pradesh
Highest Altitude Kanchanjunga, Sikkim
Lowest Altitude Kuttanad, Kerala

International Boundaries Touching Indian States

Afghanistan 106 km 1 state [Jammu and Kashmir (Pakistan occupied area)]
Bangladesh 4096 km 5 states [West Bengal, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Tripura, Assam]
Bhutan 699 km 4 states [West Bengal, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam]
China 4057 km 5 states [Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh]
Nepal 1751 km 5 states [Bihar, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Sikkim, West Bengal]
Myanmar 4 states [Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram]
Pakistan 3323 km 4 states [Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, Gujarat]